2010: The Year Young Pinoys Looked Through the Lens

I was in UP Diliman a week ago to take some pictures for my 365Project. I was amazed with what I saw O_O. It seems like a lot more Filipinos are now having there own DSLR. The glorious DSLR of yesterday is now becoming the Point & Shoot of today. Every where I look people are taking pictures with their cams while some are posing for a shot. Some have kit lenses on them while others have the more sophisticated, bulky zooms. Others also have flash attached to their cams while a bunch of shooters were also carrying those flashy tripods.

I went around to look for an interesting subject when I saw some photographers with an outdoor strobe light setup. It was my first time to see a setup like that since I am more in to street photography. I wish I could also have the chance to learn how to shoot photos with strobe lights. Right now I am more dependent with the available natural light around me.

Finally, I was about to go home when I came across these bunch of kids looking into something. I got curious so I went towards their direction. The kids were curiously reaching out for something on the canal covered with a thick layer of grass. I don’t really know what they were up to but one of them excitedly gasped to have found something. Good thing I had my 135mm attached to my cam so I didn’t need to get so near them..I might break the moment 😀 Here is the shot I took. I did some post processing to give it a LOMOish effect and to put a title on the top:

curiosity

curiosity

I am happy that a lot of young Filipinos are now having interest with photography. I will remember the year 2010 as a year when young Filipinos opened their eyes to the art of capturing wonderful images. I am not a professional photographer and I am not yet able to take astounding pictures. . .but I am an enthusiast of capturing images which reflect the daily grind around me.

P.S.

One thing didn’t surprise me though. All the DSLRs I saw during the photo walk were all Nikon and Canon. I didn’t see anyone carrying a Pentax gear. I was already expecting this since most of the camera buyers nowadays only know firsthand what is popular by brand. I don’t mean the Canikon cams are not good. In fact, these brands really deliver high quality images. It is seldom though that a prospect camera buyer would do intensive research on what brand of cam to buy. Most also buy cams based on what their peers have.

Check out this site, http://www.picnik.com, for the software I used in the post-processing of the image.

About Jeffrey A. Aborot

> Background: BS Computer Science, University of the Philippines Baguio. > Work: Advanced Science and Technology Institute - Department of Science and Technology of the Philippines. > Academics: MS Computer Science (on-going), Algorithms and Complexity Laboratory, Computer Science Department, UP Diliman > Languages: Filipino, Tagalog, Cuyunon, English, Java, Python, C. > Operating Systems: Linux, OSX. > Weird Stuff: Bunch of Pentax film cams.
This entry was posted in Life, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2010: The Year Young Pinoys Looked Through the Lens

  1. Mark Argallon says:

    jeff, i agree with you that many filipinos now are really into photography. but i hope also that filipino christian photographers, in whatever level of expertise they are, will capture image that will give God the honor and glory. parang mahirap madalang ako makakita ng christian photographer na ganun lagi ang perspetive.

    and enjoy your pentax!

  2. Don says:

    hey jeff.. how’s the spottie doing? just developed 2 rolls last weekend..

    • hey! hi don! wassup bro? actually I just got my gordy’s strap this week. what a perfect match 😀 supposedly I am going to shoot at EDSA today for the 25th Anniversary of EDSA Revolution. 🙂 bad thing is, I got work (sana student na lang ako ulit…with pay..hehe) 😦 But I will be loading my first black and white film tomorrow and will take my spottie into the great outdoors..haha 😀 can’t wait to see how you develop film don..I’ll message you as soon as my roll runs out 😀

      how’s your shoot by the way? mind sharing your shots bro? hehe 😀

      • Don says:

        film shots linked on my name if you haven’t checked yet. 😛

      • saw your blog don, great street shots! 😀 do you shoot alone? I tried shooting the last time I passed by Baclaran church, colored film though..haven’t seen the results yet..exciting! hehe 😀 Sta. Cruz seems like an interesting place to take street photos at night..lots of things happening around 😀

Leave a Reply

