135mm: A Gem Indeed

Just a few weeks ago I got a chance to get a used SMC Pentax Manual 135mm f/3.5 lens from a fellow (and undoubtedly a very nice person :)) PinoyPentaxian, Sir Joey Reyes. Even though it is already used, I could say that it was in real good hands (and hopefully I could give to it the same care :)). It doesn’t even have a scratch. It turns silky smooth when focused. No dust or whatsoever foreign material on it. The moment he handed me the lens I couldn’t resist but to smile..like this 😀

135 baby

135 baby

135 baby

135 baby

135 baby

135 baby

135 baby

For almost 2 weeks since then I have been trying it out on my Pentax K-x. My Nikonian friends couldn’t believe that a lens with that focal length could get that compact, small, light and sharp, just 6.6 cm in length and weighs just about 270 gram  🙂 It really is an eyecandy..especially with K-x’s small built 😉

Just this last Saturday I went to SM Mall of Asia to scout for a camera backpack. Luckily when I get to the mall’s activity center a dance competition is about to start, titled Groove Dance Competition. Still, more luckily, my 135 is on cam, just right for the situation since I can’t go near to shoot using my 50mm (maybe I’d be next to the dancers if I’d do so..LOL :D). The place was crowded so I took shots from some few meters away.

Here are some of my newbie shots. Pleas bear with me.. LOL 😀

air.stop

"Hey, where the heck is Bob? O_O'"

hand.stand

"Mr. with red cap..excuse me..but you're blocking my frame..LOL :D"

sugod

Sugod!

joker.eye

joker.eye

the.crowd

People await as the different groups do their warm up for the competition.

As of now I’m back to my nifty fifty as it is much lighter as a photowalk lens but 135 will always be on my pack in case the need arises.

I will be posting more of my shots soon. Hopefully this already 3-week running busyness of mine would come to stop for sometime so I could have more time to think of a theme for my future posts. Thanks everyone 🙂

About Jeffrey A. Aborot

> Background: BS Computer Science, University of the Philippines Baguio. > Work: Advanced Science and Technology Institute - Department of Science and Technology of the Philippines. > Academics: MS Computer Science (on-going), Algorithms and Complexity Laboratory, Computer Science Department, UP Diliman > Languages: Filipino, Tagalog, Cuyunon, English, Java, Python, C. > Operating Systems: Linux, OSX. > Weird Stuff: Bunch of Pentax film cams.
This entry was posted in Life, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 135mm: A Gem Indeed

  1. narod says:

    sir magkano mo nakuha? galing ah, balitaan mo ko kung merong magbebenta ng magandang film camera hehe

    • narodski!! sa akin naman ok lang yung cam basta nakakakuha pa ng images, kahit mukhang luma na sa labas.. 😀 para feeling retro talaga..haha 😀 3K nga pala yung kuha ko sa lens, totally parang bago pa talaga kasi sobrang maalaga nung may-ari. kung hindi ka nga pala diehard Nikonian minsan may mga nagbebenta sa club namin ng used Pentax film cams..old gems..hehe 😉

  2. Narod Eco says:

    sir jep mukhang ang ganda ng camera mo ah. magkano iskor mo? hehe. balitaan mo din ako minsan kung may film camera na available (yung affordable lang hehe) magpapaturo na din ako sa yo sa photography kung ko lang 😀

Leave a Reply

